The Textile Institute Homepage The Textile Institute Homepage
  Home   Search   Contact   Feedback
  Institute Medal for Design  
The Textile Institute Medal For Design

Inaugurated in 1971 to recognize professional designers or groups of designers who have devoted themselves to, and made substantial contributions in, the field of textile design and design management. Candidates' contributions are assessed not only for aesthetic appeal but also for commercial success. This award is made to an Institute member only.

Past Winners:

J Arai, 1992
PW Butcher 2010
M Canovas, 1990
J Carr-Doughty, 1974
Collier Campbell Ltd, 1986
Dato' Prof Jimmy Choo OBE, 2011
Li Edelkoort, 1995
Eileen Ellis, 1985
S Ferla, 1979
Tricia Guild, 1989
D Healey International, 1982
S Kinder, 1975
B Klein, 1977
J L Larsen, 1996
Jean Muir, 1987
Ingar Ramstad, 1983
A Ratti, 1988
T Reich, 1973
L Schlaepfer & R J Schlaepfer, 1994
Paul Smith, 1997
Marian Straub, 1972
Sue Timney, 1991

The Textile Institute
8th Floor, St James' Buildings, 79 Oxford Street, Manchester, M1 6FQ UK
T: +44(0)161 237 1188   F: +44(0)161 236 1991  E:
Upcoming Events

6-8 March 2017
Manchester UK



The TI is pleased to announce the latest issue of its members magazine, textiles. This edition is offered in both digital and print versions. Institute members can read the digital edition in the "Members Only" section of this website.