The Textile Institute Homepage The Textile Institute Homepage
  Home   Search   Contact   Feedback
  Medals and Awards  

The Textile Institute S G Smith Memorial Medal

Inaugurated in 1964 and awarded to persons who are recognized as having devoted themselves to the furtherance of scientific knowledge concerning the physical and structural properties of fibres, whether or not such work has been published.

Applications are closed.

Past Winners:

A S Abhiraman, 1995
E G H Carter, 1966
W T Cowhig, 1970
J A Cuculo, 1996
H A Davis, 1989
M G Dobb, 1982
M Feughelman, 1990
R D B Fraser, 1985
D J Johnson, 1982
C R Jones, 1973
K G Lindberg, 1978
J W Lunenschloss, 1976
K R Makinson, 1986
J Militky, 1999
B Miller, 1993
W J Morris, 1977
S K Mukhopadhyay, 1998
M G Northolt, 1988
K E Perepelkin, 1997
M W Platt, 1983
J Pollitt, 1964
H O Puls, 1965
H L Roder, 1968
E Schollmeyer, 1991
J Shimizu, 1985
J Sikorski, 1971
P T Speakman, 1992
J L Spencer-Smith, 1969
H P Stout, 1967
H A C Todd, 1979
J G Tomka, 1994
M W Townsend, 1972
I M Ward, 1984
J O Warwicker, 1975
A Ziabicki, 1987

The Textile Institute
8th Floor, St James' Buildings, 79 Oxford Street, Manchester, M1 6FQ UK
T: +44(0)161 237 1188   F: +44(0)161 236 1991  E:
Upcoming Events

6-8 March 2017
Manchester UK



The TI is pleased to announce the latest issue of its members magazine, textiles. This edition is offered in both digital and print versions. Institute members can read the digital edition in the "Members Only" section of this website.